Canadian Seasonal to Inter-annual Prediction System (CanSIPS) - GRIB2 format

Description of the system

The Canadian Seasonal to Inter-annual Prediction System is a long-term prediction system whose objective is to forecast the evolution of global climate conditions. CanSIPS is a multi-model ensemble (MME) system using two climate models developed by the Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis (CCCma). It is a fully coupled atmosphere-ocean-ice-land prediction system relying on the operationnal data assimilation infrastructure for the initial state of the atmosphere, sea surface temperature and sea ice. For further technical information about CanSIPS please refer to the technical note.

Principal components of CanSIPS

  1. Assimilation mode: CanSIPS uses a continuous assimilation cycle for the following 3D atmospheric variables: temperature, wind and humidity. The oceanic variables: sea surface temperature and the sea ice are also assimilated by the system. The assimilated data are provided by the global atmospheric analysis available every 6 hours and the daily sea surface temperature and sea ice analysis. Also a 3D ocean temperature analysis is integrated to CanSIPS trial field before launching the integration.
  2. Forecast mode: The CanSIPS forecasts are based on a 10-member ensemble of forecasts produced with each of two CCCma climate models for a total ensemble size of 20. Monthly to multi-seasonal forecasts extending to 12 months are issued on the first day of each month.
  3. Hindcast mode: CanSIPS climatology is based on series of historical forecasts covering the period 1981-2010. This climatology of the system is very useful for the interpretation of the forecast since the anomaly is generally used instead of the actual raw forecast.

Description of GRIB available data

The fields in the CanSIPS global GRIB dataset are made available on a 145x73 latitude-longitude grid at a resolution of 2.5x2.5 degrees. This is the standard grid for the international exchanges of the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO).

For both the forecast and the hindcast parts, the available data is the monthly mean of the forecast for each member. Also note that each file contains the 12 monthly mean for the lead time from zero month to 11 months. To consult the complete variable list, refer to the variables section.

CanSIPS on global Lat-Long grid

CanSIPS global grid

Grid specifications

Table lists the values of various parameters of the CanSIPS lat-lon grid.

Parameter Value
ni 145
nj 73
resolution 2.5°
coordinate of first grid point 90° S 0° E

Download

The data is available using the HTTP protocol and resides in a directory that is plainly accessible to a web browser. Visiting that directory with an interactive browser will yield a raw listing of links, each link being a downloadable GRIB2 file. In practice, we recommend writing your own script to automate the downloading of the desired data (using wget or equivalent). If you are unsure of how to proceed, you might like to take a look at our brief wget user guide.

The data can be accessed at the following URLs:

where:

  • forecast: constant string indicating that the file contains the data from the forecast part of CanSIPS, in opposition to the hindcats part.
  • hindcast: constant string indicating that the file contains the data from the hindcast part of CanSIPS, in opposition to the forecast part.
  • MM: Month of the forecast start [01,02,03,...,12]
  • YYYY : Year of the forecast start [2012,2013,...]

File nomenclature

The files have the following nomenclature:

  • Filename for the forecast: cansips_forecast_raw_latlon2.5x2.5_VAR_YYYY-MM_allmembers.grib2
  • Filename for the hindcast: cansips_hindcast_raw_latlon2.5x2.5_VAR_YYYY-MM_allmembers.grib2

where:

  • cansips: constant string indicating that the data is from the CanSIPS system.
  • forecast: constant string indicating that the file contains the data from the forecast part of CanSIPS, in opposition to the hindcats part.
  • hindcast: constant string indicating that the file contains the data from the hindcast part of CanSIPS, in opposition to the forecast part.
  • raw: constant string indicating that the file contains raw data without bias correction
  • latlon2.5x2.5: constant string indicating the latitude-longitude projection at a resolution of 2.5x2.5 degrees.
  • VAR: Variable type included in this file. To consult a complete list, refer to the variables section
  • MM: Month of the forecast start [01,02,03,...,12]
  • YYYY: Year of the forecast start [2012,2013,...]
  • allmembers : constant string indicating that all members [01,02,03,...,20] are grouped into the file.
  • grib2: constant string indicating the GRIB2 format is used.

Example of file name: cansips_forecast_raw_latlon2.5x2.5_HGT_ISBL_0500_2012-10_allmembers.grib2

This GRIB2 file originates from CMC CanSIPS system. The data in the file have a start time on the first day of October 2012. The variable in the file is the monthly mean of the geopontential height at 500hpa, for all the members of the ensemble. The projection used is the latitude-longitude projection at a resolution of 2.5x2.5 degrees.

Levels

The data are available at surface and for certain isobaric levels (for details, refer to the variables section).

Description of the available variables

Données du SIPSCan en format GRIB2

Description sommaire du Système

Le Système de prévision interannuelle et saisonnière canadien (SPISCan) est un système de prévision à long terme dont l’objectif est de prévoir l’évolution des conditions climatiques à l’échelle globale. SPISCan est un système d’ensemble multi-modèle (Multi-Model Ensemble [MME]) utilisant deux modèles climatiques développés au Centre canadien de la modélisation et de l’analyse climatique (CCmaC). Ce système de prévision est entièrement couplé atmosphère-océan-glace-sol. SPISCan utilise l’infrastructure d’assimilation en place pour les autres systèmes de prévision afin d’obtenir les conditions initiales de l’atmosphère, de la température de la surface de la mer et de glace marine. Pour plus de détails sur ce système, vous pouvez vous référer à la note technique.

Les principales composantes de SPISCan

  1. Mode assimilation : SPISCan utilise un cycle d’assimilation continue pour les variables atmosphériques suivantes : la température, le vent et l’humidité. La température de la surface de la mer et la glace marine sont aussi assimilées par le système. Les données assimilées sont fournies par les analyses atmosphériques globales finales disponibles aux 6 heures ainsi que les analyses quotidiennes de la température de la surface de la mer et de la glace marine. De plus une analyse de l’océan 3D est assimilée dans le champ d’essai du modèle océanique de SPISCan avant de déclencher l’intégration des prévisions.
  2. Mode prévision : Les prévisions de SPISCan sont basées sur un ensemble de 10 prévisions produites par chacun des deux modèles climatiques du CCmaC pour un ensemble total de 20 membres. Des prévisions mensuelles et multi-saisons (jusqu’à 12 mois) sont émises le premier jour de chaque mois.
  3. Mode prévisions rétrospectives (hindcast) : La climatologie du SPISCan est basée sur des prévisions rétrospectives couvrant la période 1981-2010. Cette climatologie est nécessaire pour l’utilisation des prévisions à long terme puisque l’interprétation des prévisions de SIPSCan se fait généralement du point de vue des anomalies prévues par le système.

Description des données GRIB disponibles

Les données du système SPISCan sont distribuées sur une grille globale avec projection latitude-longitude rectangulaire et une résolution de 145 x 73 (2,5 degrés). Cette grille est la grille standard d’échange de prévision à long terme de l’Organisation météorologique mondiale (OMM).

Pour les prévisions en cours, ainsi que pour les prévisions rétrospectives, les données disponibles sont les moyennes mensuelles des différents membres du système. Veuillez noter que chaque fichier contient les 12 moyennes mensuelles pour chacune des échéances de zéro à 11 mois.

Il est possible de consulter la liste des variables disponibles.

SPISCan sur la grille globale Latitude-Longitude

SPISCan grille globale
Spécifications de la grille

Valeurs données aux paramètres de la grille latitude-longitude pour SPISCan.

Paramètre Valeur
ni 145
nj 73
résolution 2.5°
coordonnées du premier point de grille 90° S 0° E

Téléchargement

Les données sont disponibles via le protocole HTTP. Il est possible d’y accéder avec un fureteur standard. Dans ce cas, on obtient une liste de liens donnant accès à un fichier GRIB2. Nous vous recommandons d’automatiser le téléchargement en le scriptant avec wget (lien externe, anglais) ou un programme équivalent. Pour plus d’information sur wget, consultez les notes d’utilisation.

Les données sont accessibles aux adresses suivantes :

où :

Nomenclature des fichiers

  • Nom fichier pour les prévisions en cours : cansips_forecast_raw_latlon2.5x2.5_VAR_YYYY-MM_allmembers.grib2
  • Nom fichier pour les prévisions rétrospectives : cansips_hindcast_raw_latlon2.5x2.5_VAR_YYYY-MM_allmembers.grib2

où :

  • cansips : Chaîne de caractères constante indiquant le nom du système émetteur des prévisions.
  • forecast : Chaîne de caractères constante indiquant que ce fichier contient des données provenant de la partie prévision du système SIPSCan, en opposition à la partie prévision rétrospective (hindcast).
  • hindcast : Chaîne de caractères constante indiquant que ce fichier contient des données provenant de la partie prévision rétrospective du système SIPSCan, en opposition à la partie prévision (forecast).
  • raw : Chaîne de caractères constante indiquant que ce fichier contient des données brutes ou que le biais n’est pas corrigé.
  • latlon2.5x2.5 : Chaîne de caractères constante indiquant que la projection utilisée est latitude-longitude à 2.5 x 2.5 degrés de résolution.
  • VAR : Code de la variables contenu dans le fichier, voir la liste des variables.
  • MM : Le mois du début de la prévision [01, 02, 03, ..., 12]
  • YYYY : L’année du début de la prévision [2012, 2013, ...]
  • allmembers : Chaîne de caractères constante indiquant que tous les membres [01, 02, 03, ..., 20] de l’ensemble sont regroupés dans ce fichier.
  • grib2 : Chaîne de caractères constante indiquant que le format est GRIB2.

Exemple de nom de fichier : cansips_forecast_raw_latlon2.5x2.5_HGT_ISBL_0500_2012-10_allmembers.grib2

Ce fichier de format GRIB2 (.grib2) a été généré par la composante prévision système SPISCan sur une grille latitude-longitude à 2.5 x 2.5 degrés de résolution. La prévision a été produite pour le mois d’octobre 2012 (2012-10). Ce fichier contient les moyennes mensuelles de tous les membres du système (allmembers) pour la variable « hauteur géopotentielle (HGT) » au niveau isobarique 500hpa (ISBL_0500).

Niveaux

Ces données sont disponibles pour la surface et pour certains niveaux isobariques (détails disponibles dans la description des variables ci-dessous).

Description des variables disponibles

Ce que nous faisons

En vedette

Date de modification :